12 Weeks

Yesterday marked week 12–the last week of the first trimester! Nausea has gone way down, which is great. I have realized I have to eat at least every 3 or 4 hours. I waited too late to eat breakfast yesterday, and had the worst headache, for most of the day. So, I won’t be doing that again! We had a great time yesterday spending with family. My mom cooked breakfast, and we cooked out later on in the afternoon. Good eating!

At 12 weeks, baby is the size of a plum. Growing at over 2 inches, almost all of the baby’s organs and systems are fully formed. Reflexes are a big development this week, as baby will open and close his/her hands, curl toes, and make facial movements.

I am definitely seeing a noticeable baby bump. I can still hide it a bit with a loose-fitting shirt, but you can definitely tell it’s not just fat lol.

My next appointment is next week for a nuchal translucency screening–which tests for Down Syndrome. This test checks the back of the baby’s neck, to check for signs of DS. If the skin on the back of the neck is thicker than normal, than this is a sign. This was an optional test, so we opted to have it taken. Although I believe our baby is developing well, I want to make sure we take every precaution we need to. Plus, it’s just one more visit where we will get to see our little pumpkin on the sonogram!

Well, that’s all for now. More updates next week.

xoxo, Christina

Leave a Reply

