nursery

Mini Cribs

So, this second pregnancy definitely has given me a different perspective. I am more conscious of what I do and don’t need. I’m sure this baby will be different from Solomon, but the basic needs are the same. When I think about sleeping arrangements, the first thing that comes to mind is my son co-slept with my husband and I for most of his baby stages (he still climbs to the bottom of the bed most nights!)

This made me thinking of what type of bed to invest in for this baby. We will not co-sleep with this one, as we’ve learned it is a challenge to break them out of it. We will have the baby sleep in our room until it makes sense for them to move to their own room. Also, because we are currently using our third bedroom as an office (my husband and I work from home), the baby will spend most of the day elsewhere anyway.

I first considered a bassinet, then a pack n play. We won’t invest in a full-size crib as it likely won’t get used, and will take up too much space in our current home. We eventually plan to move, but a smaller crib is a better option. I stumbled upon mini cribs, and got super excited! They look like regular cribs, only smaller dimensions. There are mini mattresses and bedding as well. It’s perfect for smaller spaces–likely for those who live in larger cities with smaller living spaces.

Here are some that I really like.

Land of Nod Elevate Mini Crib & Mattress Set $500elevate-mini-crib

Although it is a smaller size, you don’t have to sacrifice quality. This has a modern look, and a nice two-tone look. The price point is a little higher than I would spend, but I like that it includes the mattress. With most of the other mini cribs, you would have to purchase the mattress separately.

Babyletto Origami Mini Crib $250

60010744148041p

This mini crib is at a middle of the road price point. I have this one on my wishlist. It has a modern look as well, and comes in several colors. It’s also portable, so it folds for easy travel and has lockable wheels for movement to another room.This one does not come with a mattress, but you can purchase it separately for $99.

DaVinci Kalani 2-in-1 Mini Crib and Twin Bed, $145

12925214

If you want more of a traditional style in a smaller size, this mini crib is a great option. It’s also under $200, and is convertible. So, you can turn it into a twin toddler bed. This model comes in several colors/finishes.You would also need to purchase a mini mattress separately.

Check out more mini cribs below:

Bloom Alma Mini Crib, $380

Emerson Mini Crib & Mattress Set, $299

 

 

Leave a Reply

