baby room decor

Nursery Inspiration

Since, I have to wait a little longer to find out the baby’s sex, I figured I’d keep myself occupied with nursery inspiration. I have been back and forth about whether to set up our spare room (currently an office) as a nursery, or just keep the baby in our bedroom until he/she is ready to sleep in a toddler bed (which is pretty much what we did with Solomon.)

I am thinking I will do some lite decorating, and make the room a nursery/office, where I can have some peace and quiet while feeding the baby, or trying to get them to go to sleep, or just keep them in the room while I rest/work during the day as time progresses. We will also likely move to a big home next year, so I don’t want to do overdo it. However, I can’t help but be excited about choose a theme, color scheme and all the fun stuff that comes with designing a nursery for my new little one!

Here are a few gender neutral nurseries that I will draw inspiration from when the time comes.

img_3970

I absolutely love this animal-themed nursery from Frills and Drills. I love the details: the shiplap wall, the wall lamps, the color scheme. I won’t do much with the walls where we currently live, as we’re renting but I do like the wall lamp idea. I likely won’t do animals, even if it’s a boy, but I love the window treatment and neutral colors with a pop of mint green.

img_4972

Another neutral-colored with a pop of turquoise is super cute for a gender neutral nursery from The Girl in the Red Shoes. I love the gallery wall, and will likely do something similar in baby’s room. I likely won’t do it above the crib, but I have a few walls to make this fun.I especially love the “hello” sign and wooden arrow. A lot of the pictured items on the wall are from Hobby Lobby, so I can’t wait to make a trip there!

jolie2bnursery2bpics2b038

The baby’s room will likely be very similar to this nursery from Brooke Magee. I love the cream, white and gold colors throughout. My favorite is the rocker, but I believe it is currently sold out in that color. I’m hoping it will become available in the next few months!

So the recurring details that I am planning to have in baby’s room:

  • neutral colors (likely a combination of white, cream, beige, gold, grey, and a pop of color–maybe mint or pink)
  • gallery wall
  • white crib
  • white dresser/changer
  • rocker (empire style)
  • soft rug
  • shelving

I can’t wait to get started! More details to come.

Leave a Reply

